Return to Headlines

High School athletes honored at athletic award night

North Rose-Wolcott varsity and junior varsity sports teams recently celebrated their achievements at the annual athletic award night. The event was sponsored by the North Rose Lions Club, Wolcott Lions Club, Wolcott Rotary, and North Rose-Wolcott Booster Club.


Athletes enjoyed refreshments before the ceremony, which was held in the high school auditorium. Each coach recapped the team’s performance and announced which athletes were selected for the sportsmanship award, most improved player, and most valuable player for the 2018-19 sports season. Each player selected for an award received a plaque.


Team Sportsmanship award winners were: Caleb Baldwin (Varsity Baseball), Benjamin Collins (Varsity Wrestling), Conner “Jack” DeFeo (Boys JV Soccer), Isabella DeFeo (Girls Varsity Soccer), Richard Delpa (JV Wrestling), Gordon Foro (Boys Varsity Swimming), Emily Graham (Varsity Golf), Obadiah Gregg (Boys Varsity Track and Field), Nevaeh Hoover (Varsity Softball), AnnaMae Humbert (Girls Varsity Basketball), EmmaGrace Humbert (Girls JV Basketball, JV Softball), Karissa Lake (Girls Varsity Cross Country), Kassidi Lake (Varsity Cheerleading), Connor Leous (Boys Varsity Bowling), Lannon Loveless (Girls JV Soccer), Eva Norris (Girls Varsity Volleyball), Quintin Norris (Boys Varsity Tennis), William Reed (Boys Varsity Cross Country), Helainah Richardson (Girls JV Volleyball), Shealyn Shattuck (Varsity Cheerleading), Madeline Tompkins (Girls Varsity Tennis), Kendra Tuper (Girls Varsity Bowling), Mason VanFleet (Boys Varsity Soccer), Abigail Wanek (Girls Varsity Track and Field), and Lucy Zhang (Varsity Indoor Track and Field).


Team Most Improved Player award winners were: Autumn Cole (Girls Varsity Track and Field), Matthew Cole (Boys Varsity Swimming), Mercedes Crum (Girls Varsity Basketball), Shelby Cuturia (Varsity Softball), Zachary Gilbert (Varsity Baseball), Alyssa Hernandez-Camarillo (Varsity Cross Country), Kennedy Jones (Varsity Cheerleading), Kyle Kasper (Boys Varsity Track and Field, Varsity Wrestling), Maxime Levreault (Boys Varsity Volleyball), Connor Majkszak (Boys Varsity Swimming), Cameron McCann (Boys Varsity Basketball), Christopher Mourey (Boys Varsity Soccer, Boys Varsity Baseball), Caleb Murray (Varsity Indoor Track and Field), Eva Norris (Girls Varsity Track and Field), Sierra Perkins (Varsity Golf), Sebastian Pusch-Lockwood (Boys Varsity Tennis), Kalin Reed (Girls Varsity Swimming), Nikos Soklaropoulos (Boys Varsity Soccer, Boys Varsity Basketball), Hanna Stubbe (Girls Varsity Track and Field), Kiara Ticconi (Girls Varsity Tennis), Madeline Tompkins (Varsity Indoor Track and Field), Mason VanFleet (Boys Varsity Bowling), and Brianna Vezzose (Girls Varsity Bowling).


Team Most Valuable Player award winners were: Emma Durham (Girls Varsity Soccer), AnnaMae Humbert (Girls Varsity Tennis), Ryan King (Boys Varsity Cross Country, Boys Varsity Track and Field), Kassidi Lake (Girls Varsity Swimming), Daniel Lindenmuth (Boys Varsity Bowling), Taylor Malchoff (Girls Varsity Volleyball, Girls Varsity Softball), Elizabeth Manley (Varsity Cheerleading), Emily Meyer (Girls Varsity Swimming), Jacob Minier (Varsity Wrestling), Reece Morris (Boys Varsity Volleyball), Eva Norris (Varsity Girls Basketball), Quintin Norris (Boys Varsity Basketball), Torin O’Leary (Varsity Baseball), Samanta Osorio-Ortiz (Varsity Girls Tennis), Chynna Plantz (Varsity Girls Bowling, Varsity Golf), Michael Statskey (Varsity Boys Soccer, Varsity Boys Baseball), and the entire Varsity Boys Tennis team.


Senior athletes who participated on an athletic team for all four years of high school, or 12 seasons, received special recognition. The following seniors received this recognition: Kassidi Lake, Connor Leous, Taylor Malchoff, Peter Mattice, Reece Morris, and Chynna Plantz.


Varsity athletes who achieved the highest GPA on their respective teams were honored with a full-zip athletic jacket. The following athletes were honored as scholar-athletes: Zachary DeRoo (Varsity Boys Track and Field), Emma Durham (Varsity Girls Basketball, Varsity Softball), Emily Graham (Varsity Girls Tennis), Connor Leous (Varsity Boys Soccer, Varsity Boys Bowling), Connor Majkszak (Varsity Boys Swimming, Varsity Boys Tennis), Emily Meyers (Varsity Girls Swimming), Reece Morris (Varsity Boys Volleyball), Chynna Plantz (Varsity Girls Soccer, Varsity Girls Bowling, Varsity Golf), Shealyn Shattuck (Varsity Cheerleading), Persian Singh (Varsity Wrestling), Michael Statskey (Varsity Boys Baseball), Coby Stubbe (Varsity Boys Basketball), Hanna Stubbe (Varsity Girls Track and Field), Dominique Warring (Varsity Girls Volleyball), and Lucy Zhang (Varsity Girls Cross Country, Varsity Indoor Track and Field).


Many North Rose-Wolcott high school athletes were recognized as triathletes, who participated on an athletic team all three seasons for the 2018-19 school year. Triathletes were honored with a sweatshirt and are listed below by grade level.


9th Grade Triathletes: Alexis Countryman, EmmaGrace Humbert, Hanna Stubbe, Nolan Sears, and Zachary DeRoo.


10th Grade Triathletes: Abby Nelson, Abigail Wanek, Alexes Hunt, Alyssa Hernandez-Camarillo, Autumn Cole, Brianna Vezzose, Caleb Murray, Cameron McCann, Danielle Bray, Eva Norris, Gabrielle Welsh, Gordon Howie, Hannah Mathes, Jessi Mendenhall, Kendra Tuper, Lannon Loveless, Lucy Zhang, Mercedes Crum, Nayeli Morales, Quintin Norris, Shelby Cuturia, and William Reed.


11th Grade Triathletes: AnnaMae Humbert, Christopher Mourey, Elizabeth Manley, Emma Durham, Garret Dennis, Ian Boone, Isabella DeFeo, Jacob Minier, Jenna Roelle, Kalen Roberts, Kyle Kasper, Madeline Tompkins, and Nikos Soklaropoulos.


12th Grade Triathletes: Chynna Plantz, Connor Leous, Kassidi Lake, Mason VanFleet, Peter Mattice, Reece Morris, and Taylor Malchoff.